Giving up my day job!

Having been a complementary therapist for the past 8 years (on a very part time basis and whilst still holding down a day job) I have finally taken a leap of faith and made the decision to give up a very stressful position (I left my job last week 🙂 ) and take a huge step forward forward to a position of being able to help and heal AND work in a wonderfully stress-free environment. In other words my perfect “job”.
Confucius quotes “Chose a job you love and you will never have to work a day in your life”.  I hope never to work another day in my life!!
However although I do realise there are massive benefits in doing this, it is very scary.  As you probably already know:
1). It takes time to build a full time practice and not many clients stay with us indefinitely.
2). There are only so many days in the week and hours in the day I can work
3). There is only so much strain my hands/back and brain can take – as we all know our work can be physically and emotionally draining sometimes
4).  I have given up a full time with an exceptionally good salary and although money is not the driving force behind us complementary therapists, in realistic terms we all need to eat and pay our bills.
So before taking the leap I did a lot of thinking around how I could make a residual income which took the pressure off me and meant I didn’t have to raise my charges to my clients.  I have always wanted my therapies to be beneficial to as many people as possible and still do. Raising my charges may make the cost of a therapy too expensive for some.
I wasn’t looking for something that would mean having to put in more hours and I certainly wasn’t looking for something that was going to cost me a lot of money to do. Time and money were not in abundance and I couldn’t afford to waste either.
BUT I was looking for something that would be congruent with my therapy practice. It had to be something that enabled me to offer more benefits to my clients and something I truly believed in, something that feedback would tell me was as good as I believed it was.  And I found it!
My new job ad:
The job is with a Company larger than Gucci, and promises a secure position even in these troubled financial times. You can pick your own hours and pay rises and promotions are positively encouraged! This job allows you to meet people, and help others. You will be provided with a secure pension in which you invest time rather than money. And to say thank you for your hard work, the Company will give you a new car and free holidays around the world!
You see the job, but would you apply? Would you decide it was too good to be true or would you seek more information? Well that advert is here and now, and the opportunity for more information is here for the taking. I know it because this is exactly what its doing for me! There are more vacancies – tell me, what have you got to lose?
Leave a Reply

